AGN: Emeka Rollas Emerges President, Govt. Of National Unity

After a keenly contested exercise by vote for government of national unity to move the Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN) forward, Emeka Rollas Ejezie emerged winner defeating Emeka Ike with 42 votes to 14.

The epoch-making event which had all state chapter chairmen present, held at Oakland hotel, Enugu and organised by the AGN Congress headed by Emma Ogugua (Vice President, Board Of Trustees, AGN) also produced other winners as approved by AGN congress the likes of Samuel Oniyobo who won with 42 votes to emerge national secretary; Michael Oruma, Vice president, North Central (unopposed); Marshall Johnson, Vice President, North East, (unopposed); Arimu Tope Babayemi, Vice president, South West (unopposed); Mens Nick Ikpeme, Vice president, South south (unopposed); IK Ezeanagu got 47 votes to become  Vice president South East against Chukwu Roland who got no votes. 

Moses Kasa won with 40 votes to emerge Financial Secretary over Edith Irabor who got 3 votes. St. Maradona, Treasurer (unopposed); Frank Dallas, PRO (unopposed); Rex Maxwell M Barde, Chief Whip (unopposed); AB Cowboy got 49 votes to become the DGS.

While congratulating the winners, Mr. Emma Ogugua, Vice Chairman, BOT, AGN said: We thank all those who contributed to this peace meeting. We thank Emeka Ike for his support for government of national unity and dissolution of both Emeka Ike executives and Ibinabo’s executives. We thank the congress for voting it too and their approval for all actions taken today for the peace. May God bless you all.”

The winners have been sworn in. gathered that the well represented and recorded peace meeting had all the warring factions present such as the Ibinabo group, Emeka Ike, Emeka Rising, and St. Maradona. And they all agreed to make peace and move the guild forward. After much deliberation two lists emerged; Emeka Ike and Ibinabo group. Emeka Ike as learnt proposed the list. While Ike represented his group, Rollas represented Ibinabo’s group and voting commenced in the absence of the two contestants. They were asked to leave the voting hall so as not to distract voters. 

In all the Emeka group has 7 officers in the 12 man committee while Ibinabo group has 5.

Available information has it that from next week, all those who have pending cases in court would begin to withdraw them as to move the guild forward.

The tenure for the Government of national unity as approved by congress is two years.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.