Ibru, Sharp Band, Mabiaku, Others To Headline LIJF@10...PMAN President, Okafor To Produce Celebration

Inspiro Productions organisers of Nigeria’s Premier Jazz Festival unveiled the names of the artistes performing at its 10th anniversary extravaganza to be held in honour of the late South Africa Jazz Icon Hugh Masekela at Freedom Park, Lagos.

Topping the bill are Gloria Ibru, Gboyega Adelaja, Bright Gain, Sharp Band All Stars, Orliam, Dede Mabiakwu, Dezign, Benny Paladin, Nathmac & a host of others. The one day event to be produced by current PMAN President Pretty Okafor a veteran performing musician and internationally trained professional concert producer is spread over 3 stages.

Festival director & founder Ayoola Sadare said “The choice of musicians for this year’s edition was based on a few factors. Most of the headline artistes have at one time or the other known or performed with Hugh Masekela and desired to honour him when approached. Gboyega Adelaja was his band member and flat mate back in the states years ago, Gloria Ibru recently recorded a track with the legend before he passed, Mike Aremu had played on the same platform with him several times and had plans to have him perform at one of his Sax Appeal shows.
Dede was an associate of the icon from when he used to visit Fela way back.  They all feel a strong obligation to honour him especially as it also falls on international Jazz Day. The choice of the PMAN president Pretty Okafor to produce this special anniversary of the festival is also significant as he was there at the inception of the festival 10 years ago and also at Hugh’s 70th anniversary celebration in Capetown in 2009 and feels this is the contribution he can make to honour the legend.”

The Lagos International Jazz Festival 2018 10th anniversary celebration will be held on international Jazz Day Monday April 30 at Freedom Park Lagos. The event is supported by Lagos State Tourism, Freedom Park, Sovereign Trust Insurance & a host of others.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.